Can I Trust You?

This is my Poetry Picnic entry for week 12. “Can I trust you?” was written as a modern Triolet.

Can I Trust You?

Can I trust you with my heart?

My heart can’t stand to be broken…again

But you’ve come to mean so very much to me, so…

Can I trust you with my heart?

Your eyes pull me in, they entice me.

Your voice hypnotizes my soul…but…

Can I trust you with my heart?

My heart can’t stand to be broken…again.

©2011 by ghosterb

About ghosterb

I live in a little town in Virginia called Buffalo Junction. It's in between Clarksville and South Boston. I Love all kinds of music and poetry. I'm a night owl. I love the tranquility and mystery of the night.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Love, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Can I Trust You?

  1. A question I find myself asking more often than not. See, I believe love is easy, but trust? Trust is very hard.

    • ghosterb says:

      Yes I agree Carmen. Trust is something that almost always takes some time to build up. Though it is also something that I have to work on because I tend to trust people a little bit too much.

      • …and I’m the opposite: I trust NO ONE. It’s not for any other reason, but i tried it the other way and it didn’t work, so now I make people earn that trust first. Enough dissapointment, broken hearts, and I couldn’t help but go the other way I do suppose. Beautiful work — as always my friend.

  2. ghosterb says:

    Thank you Carmen! I understand the disappointments and broken hearts, I’ve had a few of those myself and it’s remarkable that I haven’t gone the other way, though I have thought about it, but I guess I’m an optimist and a romantic at heart, I try to see the good in all people, see…I’ve got to work on that :o)

Leave a Reply

