The Journey

The Journey

Life is a journey through many a terrain

From gardens of pleasure to deserts of pain

From oceans of love to jungles of hate

From mountains of glory to canyons of fate

There’s a highway for joy and a highway for sorrow

A Road for today and a road for tomorrow

So choose your path wisely and please walk it with care

If you follow your heart, you’ll find your way there

You see…

I’ve been to the gardens and planted seeds there

I’ve been to the desert and felt the despair

I’ve swam in the ocean of love and drank of its wine

And of most of life’s pleasures I truly did dine

I’ve climbed life’s mountains to touch the sky

And I’ve been in the canyons where I started to cry

I’ve been in life’s jungles and felt the worlds hate

But I’ve never been one to believe in fate

My Path has been twisted, wide spread and long

But to me it’s been a truly beautiful, sweet song

I’ve followed my heart and there’s not much time to spare

Tell them in heaven Lord, that soon I’ll be there!

About ghosterb

I live in a little town in Virginia called Buffalo Junction. It's in between Clarksville and South Boston. I Love all kinds of music and poetry. I'm a night owl. I love the tranquility and mystery of the night.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Inspiration, Life, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Journey

  1. Great poem, thank you for sharing

  2. kez says:

    beautifully written and so true life is a journey and us the traveller …loved this thank you x

  3. This wonderful, Bruce! I love the way the second half becomes so positive and almost light-hearted. It’s kind of like a song that starts out as a slow ballad then turns into a celebratory swing dance. Nicely done!
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/10/23/the-wolf-and-the-rose/

  4. Morning says:

    true, smooth sailings.
    Thanks for the ride in your corner of life journey.

    🙂

  5. ghosterb says:

    Thank you Morning for stopping by and leaving me a bit of sunshine ;o)

  6. Kay Salady says:

    You are truly blessed. Thank you for sharing such a lovely poem.

  7. ghosterb says:

    I’m blessed because I have wonderful friends like you! Thank you Kay :o)

  8. vibrant words, love it.

    😉

Leave a Reply

