Dream Memories

Dream Memories

As day slips away into night
The trials and tribulations of life…
Fade away
Behind the curtains of sleep and dreams

In my mind
Warm tropical breezes caress your skin
The playful splash of you
Flits around the edges of my mind
No matter where my dreams take me…
You’re there

As the sun rises, it brightens the new day
and it reminds me of your beautiful smile
You’re the prize that awaits me
As the voyage of dreams nears its end

The warmth of your lips linger…
As nights twilight merges into dawns early light
In my mind…You live on
I hang on to,
Every…last…second…of sleep
But time, precious and dear
Moves at its own pace
Soon, inevitably, I must awake
To a world where you are…no more
Disappointed,
I arise to greet a new day
Holding on to my amazing memories…
Of you

©2011 by Bruce

About ghosterb

I live in a little town in Virginia called Buffalo Junction. It's in between Clarksville and South Boston. I Love all kinds of music and poetry. I'm a night owl. I love the tranquility and mystery of the night.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Love, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Dream Memories

  1. Again, beautiful. Sad…but beautiful. I love dreaming, but sometimes I just wish it was real.

    Carmen

  2. ghosterb says:

    Yeah sometimes I do as well Carmen.

  3. the opening two lines instantly offers vivid imagery and what’s coming after,
    🙂

    beautiful sadness, thanks for sharing.

  4. Beautifully done. It’s tough to leave a wonderful dream behind, but each night is another opportunity.

  5. Kay Salady says:

    “And when I dream, I dream of you. Maybe someday, you will come true.” This is such a lovely poem.

  6. It is too bad that dreams are not real. This is really beautiful
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/09/29/bubbling-potion-of-love/

  7. Very nice, Bruce. Really enjoyed this sad one. One of my “Changed” series is entitled “In Dreams” and has much the same sentiments as this. Watch for it on Gooseberry Garden, 11/9.

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/09/30/bubbles-and-lies/

  8. Sajeevs blog says:

    Sleep gives solace to millions of us from pain, sorrow, loss etc. It is when we drop all our bindings and are closest to our inner selves:) Inspiring and sad poem

  9. Beautiful and sad poem I enjoyed reading this piece very much 🙂

  10. Wow, this is really quite haunting. It’s hard, sometimes, knowing that dreams “feel” so fleeting…especially when the days drag on. Really well done! 🙂

  11. logan51891 says:

    The way in which you capture the beauty and pain of dreaming of that lost person is very raw and genuine. Such a beautiful poem.

Leave a Reply

