Can I…

Triolet: (pronounced tree-o-let)

The Classic triolet is a very brief, tightly rhymed poem that takes part of its structure from the repetition of entire lines. A triolet is eight lines, as follows: The 1st, 4th, and 7th lines are the same and the 2nd and the last line are the same. The 3rd line and the 5th line rhyme with the first line. The 6th line rhymes with the 2nd line.

Modern poets  often make subtle changes in the repeated lines or in the rhyming structure. These are called Modern Triolets. Most contemporary poets shy away from the extreme repetition and limited rhymes of the classic triolets and usually opt to write modern triolets.

Triolets were originally written in the French of the Middle Ages. The first triolets in English were prayers written by Patrick Carey, a Benedictine monk of the 17th century. Robert Bridges, an English poet and critic who later was named Poet Laureate and saw to the publication of Gerard Manley Hopkins’ poems, reintroduced the triolet into English at the end of the 19th century. Since its brief vogue back then, only a few modern day poets have written triolets.

Here is my attempt at a Modern Triolet.

Can I…

Can I trust you with my heart?
My heart can’t stand to be broken…again
But you’ve come to mean so very much to me, so…
Can I trust you with my heart?
Your eyes pull me in, they entice me.
Your voice hypnotizes my soul…but…
Can I trust you with my heart?
My heart can’t stand to be broken…again.

©2011 by ghosterb

About ghosterb

I live in a little town in Virginia called Buffalo Junction. It's in between Clarksville and South Boston. I Love all kinds of music and poetry. I'm a night owl. I love the tranquility and mystery of the night.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Can I…

  1. well done,
    enjoyed your sentiments, we can always find trust again…

    Greetings:

    Week 27 Poetry Potluck is open, welcome/Thanks (4) joining us…share your poetry with us today…

    Friendship Awards, Enjoy!

    Happy Monday,
    Bless you!
    xxx

  2. Olivia says:

    Thank you B for doing this.. I have been contemplating trying one myself… Only too lethargic to look for the form in actual coz I have read some triolets with rhyming pattern instead of the actual thing as you have explained here..

    Next thing.. A triolet on my site!
    Love n Hugs xxxxx

    • Bruce says:

      You’re welcome Olivia! Triolets are fun to write. The ones with the really strict rhyming structure are the classic triolets which were developed in France in the middle ages. Most modern triolets don’t follow the strict rhyming
      structure. I can’t wait to read yours!

      • Olivia says:

        Thanks for telling me that!
        I am not very sure if I would want to do any “very” strict pattern yet. My triolet is ready. I’ll ping you the moment it is posted!

        Hugs xx

  3. ghosterb says:

    You’re welcome! I’ll be looking for your ping.
    ((((Hugs)))) back to you :o)

  4. Pingback: Forever and after..! « Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..

  5. Olivia says:

    Here.. did you get that ping? 🙂
    Here’s the link- http://oliviasmindlymatters.wordpress.com/2011/03/26/forever-and-after/

    Hugs xx

  6. Jingle says:

    wow, Glad to see Olivia represent you..
    kiddos.

    Please consider join Thursday Poets Rally today,
    email Olivia for details.
    Cheers.

  7. ghosterb says:

    Thank you Jingle…I might do that. The problem is I’m a bit pressed for time. Its hard to read everybody Else’s poetry, which I would love to do but, I just don’t have the time.

Leave a Reply

