The Red Bench

The Red Bench

Red is the color of passion
Red is the color of heat and fire
Red, to many, is the color of love
The color of the heart

Red is also the color of the bench that I’m sitting on
The same bench where you told me you were leaving
The one where you walked away from me
Leaving me alone and hurt

So…for me, red is the color of a love lost
The color of shattered dreams and broken hearts
Red reminds me of the color gray
The color that my world changed into
The day you walked away

©2011 by Ghoster

About ghosterb

I live in a little town in Virginia called Buffalo Junction. It's in between Clarksville and South Boston. I Love all kinds of music and poetry. I'm a night owl. I love the tranquility and mystery of the night.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Red Bench

  1. Aaah, my favorite color. But you made it so sad. Love your poetry!

  2. ghosterb says:

    Thank you Carmen! This was based on a picture that had a woman sitting on a red bench in the rain. Everything in the picture was pretty much colored in varying shades of gray except for the red bench and the woman’s umbrella which was red and white. As much as I looked at that picture I couldn’t come up with anything except this sad poem.
    Thanks again Carmen ;o)

  3. Olivia says:

    Very well written Owlie One.. 😉
    It stated on a very colorful note and gradually ended on a sad note. Loved reading the words and the building of emotions apparently coming to an pathless end!

    Wishing you a very beautiful 2011
    Hugs xxx

  4. ghosterb says:

    Thank you Olivia!
    I hope your 2011 is a great one as well my friend!

  5. Wow another great one! I could feel my heart breaking for the subject in this poem…I may never look at red the same way again.

    • Bruce says:

      Thank you my friend. Yes, that’s what I was trying to do…get people to see that for some people, red is not a very “happy” color…at least for awhile, until their broken hearts heal.

  6. Hi Ghoster…
    Red is also the color of blood…
    Red is also the color of eyes, in tears…
    Red is also the color of every thing that stops…

    I enjoyed reading your words my friend… specially
    ‘Red reminds me of the color gray
    The color that my world changed into
    The day you walked away’

    Thanks for sharing at Poetry Picnic WK 7… I look forward to reading more from you in our next week theme “Friends, relationships and everyone around”…
    Shashi
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/10/whispers-love-and-loss-butterfly.html

  7. Kay Salady says:

    “the color of shattered dreams and broken hearts” . . . red I wonder how long it takes to mend a broken heart? xoXox

    • ghosterb says:

      Thank you Kay! I don’t think a broken heart ever heals completely. I think a little scar always remains but it makes the heart stronger so that you can love again.

  8. Andy says:

    Hello.
    Nice progression, but oh so sad.
    Beautifully expressed.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Unchain My Heart

  9. I have to tell you (been meaning to, but always forget) every time I see your blog name, the thought “Ghost Brucesters” pops into my mind.
    S for this poem, it is definitely a good one. Great melancholy emotion and pain all dressed on red with a grey overcoat. Nicely done!
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/10/02/two-yearning-heart/

  10. Love it! Eases in, builds up then exits with a tear.

  11. I was drawn into the images, the colors of this mournful piece. The seque from red to gray is smooth and soft. Thanks for this one.

    Namaste………..cj

  12. Red is such a lovely color not only for love but in life as we see the sunsets and dreams before our eyes. Red can be such a sad color when it comes to love and the loss of love or as loved one such a beautiful poem
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/03/memories-and-photographs-of-you/

  13. This is a lovely poem there is beauty in your words. I enjoyed reading it very much.

  14. Morning says:

    love your poem on red, colorful imagery.

  15. ghosterb says:

    Thank you Morning!

  16. How is your day?

    Time flies, appreciated your handsome inputs to our poetry picnic.

    Share a poem today.
    Bless you.
    Happy December,
    Enjoy A Wonderful Wednesday Ahead.

    xoxox

Leave a Reply

