Moving on

Before you read this poem of mine let me say that this is not about anyone in my life. It is purely fiction but It came to me one afternoon pretty much the way it is and I thought it was beautiful so I had to continue writing it. I hope you like it as well!

Moving On
 

My mind is churning,
Like white, foam topped waves
On a stormy, windswept night
Thoughts of you haunt my mind
Oh how I long for your tender touch
What I wouldn’t do for one little kiss
But the waves keep on crashing
Like brittle bones shattering
Because I realize… that you’re gone

Life just isn’t the same without you
No passion, no excitement, no love
Instead of the many colors of the rainbow
Life is now seen in varying shades of gray
Life is just a chore to be done
Living ain’t living anymore

But still…I go on

Because that’s what she would want
She would say that life will get better
That it is always darkest before the dawn
You know..
She always smiled, always stayed positive
No matter how dark life got
She was always a bright shining light to guide the way
And even now, gone though she is,
She’s urging me forwards…telling me to live
To find someone new,
To make a new life, to grow and move on
To make my life worth living and to make her proud

She was my life, my love, my world
But now she’s my guardian angel
Smiling down on me, watching over me,
Wanting the best for me
And
With these thoughts…my mind calms
My outlook is brighter
And the warmth of her love…
Gently soothes my mind…to…sleep


©2010 by Ghoster

About ghosterb

I live in a little town in Virginia called Buffalo Junction. It's in between Clarksville and South Boston. I Love all kinds of music and poetry. I'm a night owl. I love the tranquility and mystery of the night.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Moving on

  1. The message in this is hope and it’s a very timely message for me. Thank you, my friend.

  2. A story in a poem. I love it and the sentiment … and you’re right. It is beautiful.

    Welcome to Rally. I hope you enjoy your visits and visitors. My poem is here:
    http://musingbymoonlight.com/2010/12/17/below-the-sky-above-the-river/

  3. Jingle says:

    your blog is so refreshing…
    beautiful composed poetry as well…
    way to go..
    keep it up.
    🙂

  4. B says:

    this is one of the great reads for me today.
    The first one to capture the emotions I’ve been keeping to myself for months now.

    Keep it up hun!

    Kisses,
    B

    btw, here’s my share for this rally: HIDING ME
    enjoy reading!

  5. Scent of my heart says:

    Bitter-sweet story, may we all have a gardian angel like the one you talk about!

    I’d like to wish you a Merry Christmas and to say thank you for the support to Jingle Poetry, with you standing beside us, we are able to continue our efforts by providing the platform for poets who share and encourage…BEST wishes for the year 2011…your poetry has enlightened our community and made us smile.

    Blessings fly your way, Happy Holidays!

    http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

    Hope to see you on Sunday Poetry Potluck again, let me know if you have questions..old poems or poems unrelated to our theme are welcome..

    week 15 theme: reflections, interpretations, and musings.

    Take care!

  6. Jingle says:

    Hello,

    Happy new Year and Merry Christmas!

    Please feel free to claim any awards from the following links..
    love your support. Thanks for the contribution to potluck poetry, link in one if you can today.
    http://itistimetothinkformyself.blogspot.com/2010/12/i-was-pleased-2-beat-flu-december.html

    welcome to poets rally or potluck poetry, less than 24 hours to go…
    hurry up.
    enjoy the benefits…

  7. ghosterb says:

    Thank you Emily!

Leave a Reply

