Black

This is a poem I’ve been working on. I’m not sure it’s done yet. I’ll probably be tweaking it over the next few days. Like always, your thoughts, comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Black

Black,
Lord I never realized
There were so many shades of…
Black.

Blacker,
The ebony darkness…all around me,
I’m trying not to drown.
Lost
Lonely,
And drawn ever deeper.

Oh Lord, it’s so dark… I just can’t see!

Blackness,
Coming down all around me,
Smothering me…drowning me.
Drawing the life right out of me…
And yet…
I’m still holding on.

Hope,
The blackness…fading to gray
Lord I swear it’s getting brighter, better.
God…what’s coming over me?

Colors,
Rainbows of colors, bringing a smile to my face.
Life…so precious and dear,
And you…ever so near.
Calling me…urging me on…believing in…
Me.

Your light,
Bringing me back…
To a life, I suddenly love.
Your words, your actions, your love,
Bring meaning, a will to move on.
I want to live,
All because of…you!

By Bruce Hoch

About ghosterb

I live in a little town in Virginia called Buffalo Junction. It's in between Clarksville and South Boston. I Love all kinds of music and poetry. I'm a night owl. I love the tranquility and mystery of the night.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Black

  1. carmenlezeth says:

    Interesting — I like where it’s going so far!

    • ghosterb says:

      Thank you Carmen! I really think it’s done. I’ve had a lot of people tell me they like it just the way it is…I guess we’ll see. I always end up tinkering with them after awhile.

Leave a Reply

